Dereham 10 miler 13-5-18


Team Dereham 10 miler 13-5-18.jpg


Following a roasting hot bank holiday weekend last weekend, it was with a sigh of relief that 25 Great Yarmouth Road Runners lined up at the start of the Dereham 10 mile race on Sunday 13th May 2018 in ideal cool and cloudy running conditions.


In its 15th year, the Dereham 10 mile race is a popular race and forms part of the Sportlink Grand Prix Series as well as the Norfolk County 10 mile Championship. This undulating course is run on mostly country roads and has become a firm fixture in the local racing calendar with 484 runners from all over the UK taking part.


This year saw Jo Pinkney enjoying her first 10 mile event in a respectable 1:55:17. Personal bests were achieved by 9 members: Fiona Williams (an impressive 10 minutes quicker), Rochine Symonds (PB by 9 minutes), Andrew Thomas (PB by 5 minutes), Linzi Clark (PB by 5 minutes), Vikki Brownsell (PB by 5 minutes), Steph Deeks, (PB by 2min 20sec), James Carass and Terry Hubbard (both PB by 2minutes) and Alison Bilyard beating her PB by 1 minute. Mark Stone narrowly missed his PB.


Carole Spong, Penny Studley and Pauline Leeves all picked up 3rd place trophies in their age groups. Penny also received a bronze Norfolk County Championship award and Pauline received a silver Norfolk County Championship award.

Awards Dereham 10 miler 13-5-18.jpg


Great Yarmouth Road Runners truly lived up to its friendly club reputation with some fantastic support both on and around the course. Lorrain Dawson paced Fiona Williams to her 10 minute PB and Emma and Noah Carass were on hand at mile 2 and 8 to high five and cheer on all the runners, with Noah debuting his photography skills.


Final times:

James Carass 01:06:38, Andrew Dormer 01:07:45, Mark Stone 01:10:15, Terry Hubbard 01:12:10, Penny Studley 01:13:11, Andrew Thomas 01:13:43, Paul Reeve 01:18:43, Sean Jermy 01:18:51, Pauline Leeves 01:21:39, Anna Coulborn 01:25:52, Carole Spong 01:33:45, Fiona Williams 01:34:32, Lorrain Dawson 01:34:33, John Bound 01:36:24, Steph Deeks 01:39:05, Sarah Cuthbertson 01:39:18, Rochine Symonds 01:44:39, Linzi Clarke 01:44:42, Alison Bilyard 01:50:49, Vikki Brownsell 01:50:51, Aimee Boreham 01:53:47, Jo Pinkney 01:55:17, Anna Spackman 01:56:59, Adele Godbolt 02:03:53, Anita Betts 02:05:27, Elaine Haggarty (second claim member) 01:51:37


As always, a big thank you to Dereham Runners AC for a superbly organised event. I am sure next year will see even more Great Yarmouth Road Runners on the start line.



Report by Adele Godbolt